2024 shorts

With a fountain of fire
Grindavik in Iceland
Reached up to the sky
Where the aurora danced
In the geomagnetic storm…

When a tendril from the mighty sun
Is stretched towards the earth in fun
And the earth responds with glee
Human ego becomes a collateral causality ….

GB

The Big Bang is a whistle- it signals the Great Game-
Creation , then Chaos, Creation, once again–
Civilizations  rise and fall , humans remain;
There are cyclic patterns of joy and pain:
Our lives are lived out on a Mobius strip:
We live out  our lives to the start of our trip!
As we grow older, helpless, childish, weak,
Our minds are still eager- we seek
New perspectives.
Are we the brain- the thinking organ of matter
The cosmos, every planet and star
Are we collectively the self-awareness of the Universe
Is that Who we are?
GB

Every eighty years or more, a red giant star,
T Coronae Borealis, swerves, veers too far, near
A white dwarf star, and its outer layers sheer
Off, this collision is seen as a Nova, a great
Burst of light, but then, both stars return to their own state!
Five months in our future, or, for them, three thousand years ago….
When the Nova happened and the glow
Started to travel the three thousand lightyears
To reach our own skies to dazzle the mind
The effect of a close encounter of the Cosmic kind!

GB

When the earth’s heart warms, sea levels rise
Coastlines shrink, men are divided by deep seas
When the earth becomes coldly hostile, in each ice age
Sea levels drop, continents at this stage
Become one.
Do only catastrophes have the power
To bring men together?

GB

As forked lightning split the sky
Rain churned the mud last night
But, lighter than a dewdrop,
The soft morning light
Falls on sleek shiny fur-
My cat snoozes in the sun.

Each winter my city renews her romance: with the Spirit of Music and Dance!
Dhoti-clad men braving the cool morning air,
Women in silks with jasmine in their hair,
With tinkling cymbals, and clapping hands,
Recite bhajans-( melodic chants).
The concerts start at four, the crowds are packed tight-
And the performances go on till late at night!
Unique to Chennai,

Most cells in my body are renewed
within  weeks or even days
but for forty years, the same heart muscles remain
And neurons are the longest lived…the cells in my brain
And because these cells are thus designed
I find that leaving my loves behind
Or readily changing my mind
Is the hardest thing for me to do

Gita Bharath

Stretching, bending, twisting
On my yoga mat
Centred in my core..
why is it that
I’m reminded of an expert in this field,
My self-contained, though, loving, cat?

Gita Bharath

At the first hint of thunder,
I fling off my clothes
I vibrate, I dance, I thrill to the rain;
And after the storm, I regain
My balance
For my poles hold me firmly in place again,
Gently and  thoughtfully I slowly  swing,
Wearing only a glittering string
Of droplets shining soft and bright
Am I just a clothesline or….
Turbulent Lifeline?

Gita Bharath

Leave a comment