Identity-2

When I started to talk as a young baby,

I used to refer to myself as “she”.

The third person usage comes so naturally

Even now to the many young ones I see!

Who is the primal first person, an observer apart,

Who slowly sinks into one’s brain and heart?

Who grows so into the flesh and skin,

Starting to think – this is my body that I’m now in.

Which growth hormone generates the thought–

That out of this body, I don’t exist:  I’m nought!

I limit myself so much to my body, my brain,

I have to make a great effort to connect again

With others of my kind, who may have different views

To overcome the “I” factor, to deliberately choose

To get to the highest state of humankind–

A gestalt entity- a network of all “our” minds!

 

Leave a Reply

