behind the masks

Brisk expression, flyaway hair,

One of the morning masks I wear-

To walk the dog , to clean and cook,

And then I change my face to look–

Prim , glowing , grinning , smiling:

These are masks I use to greet

My boss, my husband, my mom,

And my neighbor across the street.

Last night I dreamt that Someone asked

To see my face in repose, unmasked.

I wondered , without the masks , the roles I play;

Who am I myself, at the end of the day?

A personality of my own I longed to see–

But dream turned nightmare: and I turned to flee–

For a black hole gaped — where my face should be!

 

 

Leave a Reply

