mirror – image

I lived through a nightmare late last night:

And my rock-firm beliefs, to my great fright,

(Notions that I’d thought safe and sound)-

Shifted shape, leered at me, as they turned around.

I, a working man , true and sincere,

In that dream-world was forced to adhere

To the dictum that men must work free

For the good of society!

And domestic work was highest-paid,

Men looked down upon commerce and trade,

Home-makers, child-bearers, highly praised–

Whatever mere men did was slightly debased!

At the end, only  my wife’s status determined my worth!

I awoke, shivering, thankfully, to my own unequal earth!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

