a familiar stranger

A stranger knocked on my door today

She wore my daughter’s face;

And walked in confidently-

With my mother’s  gait and grace.

She hugged me and then swung me round:

My father looked out of her eyes!

Her nose was very like my own:

The very same shape and size.

“How long its been since I visited you,” she sighed,

“Grandma, what’s for dinner?”

And she was once again a child-

The schoolgirl I remembered.

She energized my house and filled my mind

With colourful vistas and views–

And spoke of her hopes and interests

And the career that she would choose.

I was very proud of her dignity and poise

Of the stature to which she’d grown:

She may have been shaped by her inheritance-

But her dreams were her very own!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

