my shadow

“I’m off duty,” he seemed to say,

As he kicked up his heels and floated away;

The evening turns black -and-white into grey–

He loomed over me, he wavered, shrunk,

Then stretched over the road, and scared a passing drunk.

Then vanished utterly in the dark.

I wonder, does he become a nomad each night,

Untethered to me, free to take flight?

And does he become , on cloudy days,

Part of a giant gestalt haze:

Linking up with others of his shadow-kind–

Leaving us dull mortals behind?

 

Leave a Reply

