Whither away?

Once long ago, they came out of the sea–

The dolphin, the whale and the manatee.

Grew limbs to mark out their territory-

Foraged and warred like you and like me!

Then, tiring of this land, longing for the sea,

They returned to an existence- boundless and free.

I tell you this, my children, that you may not cry-

Mourn for me or weep when I shall die:

For the desk-bound, earth-bound, entity that was I:

Will be sounding the depths and cleaving the sky!

 

 

Leave a Reply

