Communication gap

The shards of her screams tore through the night

And my heart thudded fear as I ran to her side,

Crying, “Baby, Baby, where does it hurt?”

“Baby, please don’t cry anymore.”

But she only screamed louder and long.

Not the thirty-three dialects of my native land

Or the devices that crowd its sky–

Could bridge that narrow gap that night-

Between my baby and I.

Exhausted and dumb, we finally slept:

She in my arms, and I in a chair.

My mother watched over us but said nothing at all;

For she lives behind glass in a frame on my wall.

Leave a Reply

