Staircase to the sky

Overground and underground I’ve visited many places:

Used escalators, moving ramps, lifts and staircases.

But to visit castles built in the air, in vain I search for the bottom stair.

Poets glide up on the wings of dreams,

Scientists are drawn up on tractor beams

Of research and thought profound.

A flight of fancy I thought I’d try: but seeing no handholds in the sky–

Halfway up, I freeze in fright, and decide henceforth to limit my sight

To the solid, secure ground!

Leave a Reply

