arjun

Facing us, opposing us, in battle array;

Are cousins with whom I used to play!

My teacher, uncles, beloved grandsire:

Who’ve nurtured me and whom I’ve admired;

But you tell me Krishna, to use my skill

To make war on them , to maim and kill.

Love and Duty  war in my mind:

I chase a resolution that I cannot  find–

You speak of a series of lives : and Death

As insubstantial as my horse’s breath.

You remind me of the warrior’s lot–

The Dharmic path that I was taught.

That was the lifeline I needed, my friend,

My charioteer, I shall not now falter or bend:

My mind You have honed- it is sharp and clear:

Another weapon for my foes to fear!

Leave a Reply

