bloated ego

In the slanting rays of the morning sun, I saw a monster insect run-

Along the top of my garden wall, and almost let my tea-cup fall:

All legs and spikes and fierce to see- surely not African spider or bee!

I blinked and things came into focus–it was only a bit of hocus-pocus

On the part of the sun, who, ebullient, had magnified the shadow of a tiny ant!

But now whenever I see rave reviews of prominent people in the news,

I wonder- behind that arc-lit glare, how much substance is truly there?

Leave a Reply

